About Nairobi National Museum
Nairobi Museum was first built in 1910 at the present location of Nyayo House and later migrated to a larger building at the current site for Nairobi Serena Hotel. The museum's current location was chosen in 1929 by the colonial government and officially opened in 1930 as Coryndon Museum in honour of Sir Robert Coryndon, one time Governor of Kenya. It would later be re-named to the National Museum of Kenya (NMK) in 1963 after independence.
From 2005 - 2008, Nairobi Museum was closed for renovations which included modernization and expansion in order to compete with world-class museums